ImmigrationTravel Guide

The main types and categories of US visa that an immigrant needs to know before immigration

When foreign citizens want to enter the United States, they must obtain a US visa, which is usually listed on the passport. As long as they meet all the visa exemption criteria, some people can enter and travel to the United States without this visa. U.S. residents do not need a U.S. visa to travel. However, if you travel abroad, you will most likely need to obtain a visa from the embassy of the country the person intends to travel to.

There are 2 main types and 3 types of U.S. visas

Immigration laws usually specify or specify the type of U.S. visa that an individual must obtain to travel in the country. There are two main types of visas related to the type of travel you are going to use. it:

  • Immigrant Visa-If you ultimately want to become a US citizen, you will need to travel to the US.
  • Non-immigrant visa-required for temporary travel in the United States.

Therefore, it is important to understand your intentions before obtaining a visa. You should also tell the authorities what type of documents you need. There are 3 types of U.S. visas:

Student Visa

A small number of students are eligible to enter the United States.
Family Visit Visa-Whether for business or leisure purposes, this US visa allows individuals to stay in the country for a limited time.

Work Visa

Depending on your field of work, the U.S. Department of Labor or other federal government agencies may require you to obtain an identification document to live in the United States.

Use a visa to enter the U.S.

With one of the above two types of visas, an individual (and, if applicable, a family member) can enter the United States in two ways:

  • Port of Entry
  • Airport or land transit

It also allows personnel to request information from inspectors hired by CBP (Customs and Border Protection) or DHS (Department of Homeland Security). Although you may have obtained a US visa before arriving in the US, this does not guarantee that you will enter the US. It only means that the consulate or consular officer of the US Embassy has determined that the person is eligible to enter the United States.

In addition, US Customs and Border Protection and Department of Homeland Security inspectors are also responsible for ensuring the security of US borders and entry points and allowing foreign travelers to enter countries with designated identities and designated time periods. Another job of the inspector of the Department of Homeland Security is any immigration issues that arise during the person’s stay in the United States. Usually, you can visit the US consulate or embassy and apply for a US visa.

Remember, getting it does not guarantee that you can enter the country, but only that it is a prerequisite for entering the United States. In the end, this decision remains the responsibility of CBP or DHS.

Related Articles

Back to top button