ImmigrationTravel Guide

The United States visa exemption eligibility; Learn more about the Visa Waiver Program

Some visitors to the United States may be eligible for visa exemption, which means they can visit the United States without a visa, provided they meet certain requirements set forth in the Immigration and Nationality Act. These visitors must be from eligible countries and must meet a series of other requirements. The consulate or consular officer of the embassy will determine whether a person is eligible for this visa.

For a country to qualify for the Visa Waiver Program (VWP), it must be designated at the discretion of the U.S. government and must meet a series of security requirements. The 36 countries in the plan include Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta and Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

Citizens and nationals of these 36 countries/regions can use the visa-free program if the visitor meets the following conditions:

  • Hold a passport that meets the requirements of the Visa Waiver Program
  • It said that the stay will not exceed 90 days
  • Prove that the visit is for business or tourism purposes
  • Proof of sufficient funds
  • It is not found that it does not meet the conditions of a U.S. visa
  • Hold a return ticket to O
Things to Consider before immigrating to Spain

Immigration officials at the port of entry make the final decision on whether to allow someone to enter the United States, regardless of whether they hold a valid passport or meet the requirements of the Visa Waiver Program.